Posted by: apopalyptic | 03/16/2010

My vacation to Middle Earth

Last year, I conquered the most incredible knitting pattern I have ever seen, the Sylvi:

photo by Abigail

My most ambitious knitting project since I learned two and a half years ago, I had described this project as what I might wear on my vacation to Middle Earth. The cable pattern and giant flowers kind of provide a Druid-as-told-by-Tolkein motif. I had decided on not making this the same red as the original, mostly because that made this coat seem like I was about to traipse through the woods to bring Marlboro Lights and a bottle of Jack to my grandmother. And also because it would be like: holy cow that is one red ass coat!

This particular colorway of Debbie Bliss Donegal Chunky Tweed is called Denim. At the time, I knew I wanted to make this project in something neutral so it could be worn with anything, though I don’t tend to wear it at all out of fear that something will happen to it. That, and one front piece is longer than the other and I have to figure out how to fix that. But, I digress… a design this intense requires a neutral color so that the amazingness of the pattern can stand out.

There is definitely an alignment between the Apocalypse and Middle Earth, or at least the part of Middle Earth where Gollum seeks the Precious. Modor, we’re talking. Cue the Led Zeppelin.

I mean, you already knew that, right?

Responses

  1. I can’t believe I still haven’t seen this coat! I bet I could help you with that front length differential.


Leave a Reply

Categories

