Posted by: apopalyptic | 02/25/2010

A style question

Let me explain…

One day, during the Fall 2009 semester, Danika was sporting (as per usual) an amazing outfit that included (but was most certainly not limited to) Earth boots similar to these in a greyish/greenish color and a dark purple sweater that came down mid-thigh and sort of attached itself on a diagonal, and a pashmina she wore as a scarf. In the middle of our conversation, apropos of nothing close to what we were talking about (probably journal article databases and wiki technology), she said: I think today, I’m dressed for the apocalypse.

As one is want to do when inspired by good friends and their impeccable style, I started thinking about how I could incorporate Danika’s fashion sense into my own wardrobe. Our taste level in clothing, much like everything else, overlaps quite a bit, but she’s always pulling out a choice that I never think of. Like wearing a long-sleeved t-shirt under a tank dress… duh, of course it looks great!

I’ve been thinking about how I can totally rip off her style while somehow making it my own, and thus, I came up with my style question: Would I wear this to the apocalypse? Now, by apocalypse, clearly I mean the post-apocalypse, and by post-apocalypse, I am thinking not so much Road Warrior, the-apocalypse-as-seen-from-the-1980s, but more in terms of Marc Jacobs. Perhaps Apocalypse Couture, though as Kelly Cutrone will point out, this is not the proper use of the word couture.

The purpose of this blog is to answer the title question, and to see if I can develop this into some kind of cohesive style. I really have no idea how to write about fashion, so bear with me when I have no idea what certain words are for specific patterns or, um, fashiony things. And, like all good questions, the answers are best found in dialog so please be part of the discussion!

Responses

  1. I demand photos.

  2. You should totally model your website after cupcakesandcashmere. You could take pictures of yourself in different outfits for the apocalypse.

  3. Martha… I think you may be on to something. Maybe this could get a fashion week invite, too? Or a book deal. Maybe a book deal!


Leave a Reply

Categories

